Pfingstdialog 2019

Digital Europe.

The growing momentum behind digitalisation is bringing about undreamt-of change in our lives. Disruptive technologies such as 3D printing with its many applications, autonomous vehicles, robotics and mobile Internet, and their seemingly limitless possibilities, will all play their part in giving Europe a new look very quickly.

This brings great opportunities, but, as discussions in recent months have shown, also complex challenges. In many regards, Europe is currently at an important crossroads. What will a digital Europe look like?

What kind of developments are possible and which are unavoidable? And how can we (still) control these developments? How should Europe position itself in global competition? How will digitalisation change our economy, the world of work and our society? What, in turn, does that mean for communication and (political) decision-making processes? What ethical and social challenges does digitalisation bring?

Which boundaries are being crossed, what kind of restrictions are required? Can Europe’s cultural diversity be a strength in this situation? And what role is played by Europe‘s regions and cross-border areas such as the Alpe-Adria region?

Download Information folder 2019 as PDF.

Procedure & programme

Presentations, debates by experts and small workshop-style groups – the Whitsun Dialogue offers a range of formats and ways of entering into dialogue, exchanging ideas and gaining a new perspective.

The approximately 75 speakers at the 2019 Whitsun Dialogue include:
Markus BEYRER, BusinessEurope, Ingrid BRODNIG, journalist, Wolfgang BURTSCHER, DG Research and Innovation, Tim COLE, journalist & IT pioneer, Judith DENKMAYR, Quo Vadis Veritas Redaktion GmbH, Iris EISENBERGER, BOKU, Heinz FASSMANN, Federal Minister, Andreas GERSTENMAYER, AT&S, Ralf HERBRICH, Amazon Head of Machine Learning, Matthias KARMASIN, communication scientist, Gerhard KRACHLER, Magna Steyr, Archbishop Franz LACKNER, Katharina LADEWIG, European Institute of Innovation & Technology, Stefanie LINDSTAEDT, Know-Center, Markus MAIR, Styria Media AG, Stefan MANGARD, Graz University of Technology, Heinz MAYER, JR-DIGITAL, Antonella MEI-POCHTLER, Think Austria, Johanna MUCKENHUBER, FH Joanneum, Soziale Arbeit, Paul NEMITZ, DG JUST, Yussi PICK, Pick & Barth Digital Strategy, Bernhard PÖRKSEN, media scientist, Jeremias PRASSL, Oxford University, Franz ROTTER, voestalpine, Friedrich SANTNER, Anton Paar, Eberhard SCHOCKENHOFF, moral theologist, Peter SLOTERDIJK, philosopher, Sarah SPIEKERMANN-HOFF, WU Wien, Charlotte STIX, Cambridge University, Gerfried STOCKER, Ars Electronica Center, Sandra THIER, Diego5, Stefan THURNER, Complexity Science Hub Vienna, Peter UMUNDUM, Post AG, Christiane WENDEHORST, German Data Ethics Commission, Lojze WIESER, publisher, Stefan WINKLER, Artificial Intelligence Singapore, Siegfried WOLF, manager Alexander WRABETZ, ORF, Werner WUTSCHER, New Venture Scouting.

Attending the conference

Join in a high-caliber interdisciplinary and international sharing of experience! Taking part in a “Geist & Gegenwart” Whitsun Dialogue offers new insights and perspectives, knowledge “from the horse’s mouth”, a sharing of experience and a networking opportunity.

Take this chance to join in the debate in the inspiring atmosphere of Seggau Castle, talk to interesting people from all over Europe about the political, social, economic, cultural and technological challenges facing Europe in a digital future, and enter into an informal sharing of ideas.

Young academics, young professionals

We hope that the “Geist & Gegenwart” Whitsun dialogues will particularly appeal to young academics and young managers from business and civil society.

It is absolutely essential to involve the next generation of opinion-formers in the debate about burning social issues. A number of different partner organizations (including Styrian universities and universities of applied sciences) are offering attractive and flexible opportunities for them to attend the Whitsun Dialogue for one (or more) days.
More information following soon.

Scholarship programme

This year once again we would like to enable interested young people from all over Europe to take part in the whole of the Whitsun Dialogue by offering a grants scheme.

The offer is available to young, interested people under the age of 35. The grants cover the entry fee, meals and accommodation.

Further information following soon.

Become a sponsoring partner

Holding the Whitsun Dialogues would be impossible without the support of sponsors and other institutions.

By supporting us, you are making a valuable contribution to meaningful interdisciplinary dialogue. Please contact us at: herwig.hoesele@clubalpbachsteiermark.at

The Whitsun Dialogues

The “Geist & Gegenwart” (“The spirit & the present”) Whitsun Dialogues have been taking place at Seggau Castle biennially since 2005. The aim is to reflect on the challenges and problems facing Europe and produce statements and publications to contribute to an ongoing dialogue about the future.

It is also always an opportunity to assess the current state of “Project Europe”: its progress, hopes and opportunities but also the risks and problems. With seven events held so far, the Whitsun Dialogue has become established as a formal platform for fruitful interdisciplinary and international debate about fundamental principles, set in the context of the southern Styrian border region, where four European cultures meet.

Retrospect 2017

The 7th ‘Geist & Gegenwart’ Whitsun Dialogue took place from Wednesday 31th of May till Friday 2nd of June 2017 at Seggau castle.

General theme 2017: Europe.USA.3.0
Seventy years ago, US Secretary of State George C. Marshall initiated a plan for the economic reconstruction of Europe’s destroyed countries. Since then, the political and economic relations between the US and Europe have become closer than ever. Based on this backdrop, the 7th Whitsun Dialogue “Geist & Gegenwart” was dedicated to the theme of “Europe.USA.3.0”.

Pfingstdialog 2019

Das digitale Europa. Digital Europe.

Die zunehmende Dynamik der Digitalisierung bewirkt eine ungeahnte Veränderung unseres Lebens. Disruptive Technologien wie die Möglichkeiten des 3D-Drucks, autonome Fahrzeuge, Robotik oder Künstliche Intelligenz und deren scheinbar grenzenlose Möglichkeiten werden dazu beitragen, mit hoher Geschwindigkeit ein neues Angesicht Europas zu entwickeln.

Dies bringt große Chancen, aber wie gerade die Diskussionen der letzten Monate zeigen, auch komplexe Herausforderungen mit sich. In vielen Bereichen steht Europa gegenwärtig vor bedeutenden Richtungs­entscheidungen. Wie wird ein digitales Europa aussehen?

Welche Entwicklungen sind möglich und welche unvermeidbar? Und wie sind diese Entwicklungen (noch) steuerbar? Wie muss sich Europa im globalen Wettbewerb aufstellen? Wie wird die Digitalisierung unsere Wirtschaft, die Arbeitswelt und unsere Gesellschaft verändern? Was bedeutet das wiederum für die Kommunikation und (politische) Ent­scheidungs­prozesse? Welche ethischen und sozialen Herausforderungen bringt die Digitali­sierung?

Welche Grenzen werden über­schritten, welche Begrenzungen sind nötig? Kann die kulturelle Vielfalt Europas dabei eine Stärke sein? Und welche Rolle spielen dabei ein Europa der Regionen und Großregionen wie der Alpen-Adria-Raum?

Informationsfolder 2019 zum download als PDF.

Ablauf & Programm

Vorträge, Experten-Diskussionen und kleine Insieme-Gruppen im Workshop-Stil – der Pfingstdialog bietet viel­fältige Formate und Möglichkeiten, in einen Dialog ein­zu­treten, Meinungen auszutauschen und neue Perspektiven kennenzulernen.

Unter den rund 75 Referentinnen und Referenten des Pfingst­dialogs 2019:
Markus BEYRER, BusinessEurope, Ingrid BRODNIG, Journalistin, Wolfgang BURTSCHER, DG Research and Innovation, Tim COLE, Publizist & IT-Pionier, Judith DENKMAYR, Quo Vadis Veritas Redaktion GmbH, Iris EISENBERGER, BOKU, Heinz FASSMANN, Bundesminister, Andreas GERSTENMAYER, AT&S, Ralf HERBRICH, Amazon Head of Machine Learning, Matthias KARMASIN, Kommunikationswissenschafter, Gerhard KRACHLER, Magna Steyr, Erzbischof Franz LACKNER, Katharina LADEWIG, European Institute of Innovation & Technology, Stefanie LINDSTAEDT, Know-Center, Markus MAIR, Styria Medien AG, Stefan MANGARD, TU Graz, Heinz MAYER, JR-DIGITAL, Antonella MEI-POCHTLER, Think Austria, Johanna MUCKENHUBER, FH Joanneum, Soziale Arbeit, Paul NEMITZ, DG JUST, Yussi PICK, Pick & Barth Digital Strategy, Bernhard PÖRKSEN, Medienwissenschafter, Jeremias PRASSL, Oxford University, Franz ROTTER, voestalpine, Friedrich SANTNER, Anton Paar, Eberhard SCHOCKENHOFF, Moraltheologe, Peter SLOTERDIJK, Philosoph, Sarah SPIEKERMANN-HOFF, WU Wien, Charlotte STIX, Cambridge University, Gerfried STOCKER, Ars Electronica Center, Sandra THIER, Diego5, Stefan THURNER, Complexity Science Hub Vienna, Peter UMUNDUM, Post AG, Christiane WENDEHORST, dt. Datenethikkommission, Lojze WIESER, Publizist, Stefan WINKLER, Artificial Intelligence Singapore, Siegfried WOLF, Manager Alexander WRABETZ, ORF, Werner WUTSCHER, New Venture Scouting.

Tagungsteilnahme

Seien Sie bei einem interdisziplinären und internationalen Austausch auf höchstem Niveau dabei! Eine Teilnahme am „Geist & Gegenwart“ Pfingstdialog bringt Ein- und Ausblicke, Wissen aus erster Hand, Austausch und die Bildung von Netzwerken.

Nutzen Sie die Gelegenheit, in der inspirierenden Atmosphäre von Schloss Seggau mit spannenden internationalen Gesprächspartnerinnen und Gesprächspartnern über die ethischen, politischen, gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und techno­logischen Herausforderungen der Zukunft Europas in einem digitalen Zeitalter zu diskutieren und in einen informellen Gedankenaustausch einzusteigen.

Nachwuchs­wissen­schafter­innen und Nachwuchs­wissen­schafter, Young Professionals

Mit den „Geist & Gegenwart“ Pfingstdialogen möchten wir ganz besonders Nachwuchs­wissen­schafterinnen und Nachwuchswissenschafter sowie junge Führungskräfte aus Wirtschaft und Zivil­gesell­schaft ansprechen.

Es ist ein Gebot der Stunde, die kommende Generation von meinungs­bildenden Persönlich­keiten in die Diskussionen über brisante gesellschaftliche Fragen einzubeziehen. Gemeinsam mit unterschiedlichen Kooperationspartnern (u.a. die steirischen Uni­­versitäten und Fachhochschulen) werden attraktive und flexible Teilnahmemöglichkeiten für einzelne (oder mehrere) Tage des Pfingstdialogs angeboten.
Mehr Informationen in Kürze an dieser Stelle.

Stipendien­programm

Auch in diesem Jahr möchten wir wieder interessierten jungen Menschen unter 35 Jahren aus ganz Europa die Teilnahme am gesamten Pfingstdialog über ein Stipendienprogramm ermöglichen.

Ein Stipendium umfasst die Teil­nahme­gebühr, Verpflegung und die Unterkunft.

Mehr Informationen in Kürze an dieser Stelle.

Sponsoringpartner werden

Die Abhaltung des Pfingstdialogs wäre ohne die Unter­stützung durch Sponsoren und weitere Institutionen nicht möglich.

Mit Ihrer Unterstützung leisten Sie einen wertvollen Beitrag zu einem nachhaltigen inter­diszipli­nären Dialog. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns unter herwig.hoesele@clubalpbachsteiermark.at

Die Pfingstdialoge

Die „Geist & Gegenwart“ Pfingstdialoge finden biennal seit 2005 auf Schloss Seggau statt. Sie reflektieren Heraus­forderungen und Problem­stellungen Europas und tragen mit Erklärungen und Publikationen zu einem nach­haltigen Zukunfts­dialog bei.

Es ist stets auch eine Stand­ort­bestimmung des „Projekts Europa“und seiner Dynamik, der Chancen und Hoffnungen, aber auch der Gefährdungen und Probleme. Mit den bisherigen sieben Veranstaltungen ist es gelungen, den Pfingst­dialog als insti­tutionalisierte Plattform der be­fruchtenden inter­disziplinären und inter­nationalen Grund­satz­debatten in der südsteirischen Grenz­region am Schnitt­punkt vier europäischer Kulturkreise zu etablieren.

Rückblick 2017

Der 7. Pfingstdialog Geist & Gegenwart fand von Mittwoch, 31. Mai bis Freitag, 2. Juni 2017 auf Schloss Seggau statt.

Das Generalthema 2017: Europe.USA.3.0
Vor 70 Jahren initiierte US-Außenminister George C. Marshall einen Plan zum wirt­schaftlichen Wiederaufbau der zerstörten Länder Europas. Seit damals sind die politischen und wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen der USA und Europas enger verknüpft als je zuvor. Vor diesem Hintergrund widmete sich der 7. Pfingstdialog „Geist & Gegenwart“ dem Thema „Europe.USA.3.0“.