Speakers 2017

Amongst the numerous speakers we have the pleasure of welcoming:

John L. Allen, Jr.

US journalist at CNN & NYT, expert on the Vatican.

Christoph Bezemek

Professor at the Institute of Public Law and Political Science at the University of Graz.

Wolfgang F. Danspeckgruber

Director of the Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination at Princeton University. Professor for International Politics at Princeton’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.

Christopher Drexler

Regional Minister for Culture, Health, Healthcare and Human Resources.

Barbara Eibinger-Miedl

Regional Minister for Economy, Tourism, Europe, Science and Research.

Fritz Fekete

American trade union organizer and advocate.

Michael Friedl

Austrian Trade Commissioner for the US, located in New York.

Franz-Stefan Gady

Editor of The Diplomat Magazine, New York. Senior Fellow with the EastWest Institute.

Alfred Gusenbauer

former Federal Chancellor, entrepreneur.

Daniel S. Hamilton

Director of the Center for Transatlantic Relations at Johns Hopkins University – SAIS.

Elisabeth Hödl

Lawyer. Author of literary texts.

Michaela Hoenicke-Moore

Associate Professor of history at the University of Iowa. Fulbright Visiting Professor at the University of Innsbruck.

Klaus Höfler

Seit 2012 bei der „Kleinen Zeitung“, derzeit verantwortlich für das Wirtschaftsmagazin „Primus“ sowie das „Dossier“-Ressort.

Herwig Hösele

General secretary of the future funds of the republic of Austria. Chairman of the Club Alpbach Steiermark, Coordinator Geist & Gegenwart.

Robert Holzmann

Economist, honorary professor at Universities in Sydney and Kuala Lumpur.

Stephan A. Hubler

Economic Political Councilor at the U.S. Embassy in Vienna.

Michael Jungwirth

Member of the editorial team of “Kleine Zeitung”.

Arnold H. Kammel

Director of the Austrian Institute for European and Security Policy (AIES).

Matthew Karnitschnig

POLITICO’s Chief Europe Correspondent, based in Berlin.

Bernhard Kettemann

President of ÖAG, the Austrian-American Society of Styria.

Otmar Lahodynsky

Editor and Brussels correspondent of “Die Presse” and “Kurier” newspapers and “profil” journal. President of the “Association of European Journalists” (AEJ).

Christian Lagger

Managing Director of Krankenhaus der Elisabethinen GmbH.

Kathrin List

Founder and chair of the AVL Cultural Foundation. President of the American Institute of Musical Studies (AIMS) in Graz.

Roberta Maierhofer

Professor of (Inter-)American Studies at the University of Graz and Head of the Center for Inter-American Studies.

Josef Mantl

Communications entrepreneur. Fulbright scholarship at the Emerson College of Communications, Boston;

Norbert Mayer

Managing editor of the “Feuilleton” of “Die Presse”.

Rod MacDonald

American singer-songwriter and novelist.

Jeff McLaughlin

Canadian philosopher at Thompson Rivers University located in Kamloops BC. Teacher for business ethics at the FH Joanneum and computer/internet ethics at Karl Franzens University in Graz.

Hermann Miklas

Superintendent of the Evangelical Diocese A.B. Styria and currently also chairman of the Ecumenical Forum of Christian Churches in Styria.

Rudolf Mitlöhner

Foreign affairs editor of “Kleine Zeitung” newspaper, deputy head of cultural section at the daily newspaper “Die Presse”, editor-in-chief of “Die Furche”.

Esther Mitterstieler

Chief editor of “News”.

Manuel P. Neubauer

Deputy General Secretary of the Club Alpbach Styria.

Leopold Neuhold

Head of the Institute for Ethics and Social Studies of the University of Graz.

Rainer Nowak

Editor-in-chief of “Die Presse”.

Eva Nowotny

Diplomat, chairman of the University Council of the University of Vienna.

Marc R. Pacheco

US-State Senator and president pro tempore of Massachusetts Senate.

Wolfgang Petritsch

President Austrian Marshall Plan Fund.

Michael G. Plummer

Director of SAIS Europe, Eni Professor of International Economics, The Johns Hopkins University, Bologna.

Klaus Poier

Constitutional law scholar and political scientist at the Institute of Public Law and Political Science at the University of Graz.

Astrid Polz-Watzenig

Consultant and coach.

Manfred Prisching

University professor at the Institute of Sociology of the University of Graz.

Barbara Ratzenböck

Ph.D. student at the Center for Inter-American Studies at the University of Graz.

Martin Rauchbauer

Austrian Consul in San Francisco and Co-Director of Open Austria, the new representation of Austria in Silicon Valley.

Edward Rhodes

Professor of Government and International Affairs at George Mason University.

Christoph Robinson

Strategic & Policy Planning Unit of the Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs.

Peter Rosegger

Education consultant of the Catholic Student Community Graz and editor-in-chief of “Denken+Glauben”.

Kurt Scholz

Chairman of the Future Fund of the Republic of Austria.

Ernst Sittinger

Member of the chief editors team of “Kleine Zeitung”, head of the business department.

Jan Erik Surotchak

Director for Europe at the International Republican Institute in Washington.

Alexander Tessmar-Pfohl

Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Sattler AG.

Klement Tockner

President of the Austrian Science Fund – FWF.

Helen Todd

Co-founder and CEO of Sociality Squared, a full service social media agency based in New York City. Advisor and speaker for SXSW Interactive.

Hedwig Unger

Constitutional law scholar and political scientist at the Institute of Public Law and Political Science at the University of Graz.

Hannelore Veit

Bureau chief of the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation ORF in Washington, DC.

Lojze Wieser


Stefan Winkler

Head of the foreign affairs department of “Kleine Zeitung”.

Eugene Young

Chargé d’Affaires a.i. at the US embassy in Austria.